Being Positive, Motivated and Accountable | How to get your life together | Setting quarterly Goals

Have you ever written a list with the intention of marking each point off and feeling super accomplished afterwards? Yeah me too. Some people go back to the list and will eventually get to work on it, it may take a while but they will get that stuff done. Sometimes you forget about the list and randomly find it crumpled up in the bottom of your bag with humbug wrappers & feminine products months later. Tell me that I am not the only one that happens to.

When it comes to my job I prioritise and make sure that I do what I need to do, but when it comes to my personal life and goals I always find it easy to put stuff on the back burner, when you have a lot of stuff going on it’s easy to practise self care and take time out to really do the things you want to do.

After going through an emotional time the past couple of weeks I’ve had a lot of time to reflect on myself, it feels like all the things I had been brimming with excitement to do, goals I had set myself have just blurred into the background as life as taken over. What I have realised is although there are some things that we can’t avoid in life such as making a living and having events that are out of our control, happiness is one thing we should not allow to stop being a priority. Happiness and self-love should always be a priority. If we are unable to love, appreciate and value ourselves then who will? If we are not happy then how will we thrive?

Looking at how things have worked out for me over the last few weeks I have realised that the reason some of problems I has occurred was because of me. It would have been easier for me to blame it all on the other person but what would be the point in that? I will not grow as a person if I don’t recognise my own faults and learn from it.

I have set myself 3 goals for the next three months and I am so looking forward to achieving them. When June 1st 2017 rolls round I will have created new habits and will be in a better place.

Being more positive | I used to be a more positive person and I’ve lost a bit of that. So I have decided that recognising when I am having a bad day, or when a situation is crappy instead of trying to erase bad thoughts by pasting a good thought on top is the best way to be more appreciative of every day and every situation.

Blogging more | I have always loved writing and it’s got me through some really bad times so I have decided to blog more, I really enjoy it and I will write a blog post at least twice a month for the foreseeable future. I am motivated to blog consistently and I want to look back in three months time with a smile on my face because I have achieved my goal.

Being healthier |  My health and happiness are tightly linked, when I am unhappy I care about myself less, and that is just stupid. Without our health what do we have? So I’ll be eating better and I will be moving more. If I slip up and have cake one day, I will not write the rest of the day off. I will dust those crumbs off my lap and continue on with the rest of the day. This goal does not only apply to my body but also my mental health. I think it is important to take time out to reflect, meditate and acknowledge feelings as burying them does not solve anything.

In short setting goals is like writing a list, there is no point in doing it if you aren’t committed to getting through it. Being committed is the key to achieving anything. It is important to realise and acknowledge that as humans we may fail, and we will have obstacles in our way, this is just a reality of life, but it is what we do with those roadblocks that matter. Don’t just think you will give things ago,  make you goals your everything, being able to visualise where you want to be is key, and giving your all will will pay off. It may take time, but you know that the end result will be worth it no matter how much time it may take.

Leave a Reply

