3 Awesome Whole Foods To Help You Lose Weight & Have You Feeling Great | 🥗🥙

Today’s post will be about three awesome ingredients that you can add into a plethora of dishes for an extra boost of goodness, these foods are staples for me as they are inexpensive, readily available and are delicious alone but even tastier when you add them into meals.

The firsts of these whole foods is Quinoa.  This South American grain has become popular in recent years as it is often used as a substitute for starchy carbohydrates and is awesome for those who are unable to eat a diet that contains gluten.  I like to use quinoa as it is a complete protein and I like to use it to make soups heartier and as a general replacement for rice as it contains twice as much protein.  

Quinoa is rich in calcium, magnesium, manganese, vitamin e and is a good source of fibre. It’s a low GI carbohydrate and contains all 9 essential amino acids as well as Omega-3 fatty acids. 

This awesome wonder grain is great for those who suffer from coeliac disease as well as vegans and vegetarians that may struggle to get enough protein. 

Okay, onto number two Legumes , my personal favourites are beans, I am not going to lie I normally purchase them in tinned form as they are really inexpensive and I always have them in my cupboard. My personal favourites are kidney beans, pinto beans and chickpeas although I usually just buy tins of mixed bean salad and add that into my meals. 

Legumes are a source of protein and fibre  and act as a great way to bulk up meat free casseroles, stews and soups. They can also be used to make meat free burgers or vegetable balls.

Studies have found that eating legumes such as black beans and kidney beans can help protect against diabetes, and heart disease and eating a healthy diet that includes legumes is going to aid in weightloss. 

Legumes have really helped me to lose weight and have also had a positive impact on my digestion so I don’t think I will ever be without them and I mean who doesn’t love a good meal of beans on toast? 

My third and final wonder food is Spinach. I ADORE spinach, my obsession might stem from my love of watching the cartoon Popeye when I little but it’s only grown as I have aged. I always have both frozen and fresh spinach on hand. Frozen to add into any cooked meals I make and fresh to put into my smoothies. 

Spinach is an effective  energy booster and a very rich source of iron which is awesome for those who suffer with anemia. Spinach also provides folic acid, Vitamin B2 & Chlorophyll. Green vegetables are generally very good for us as they are often excellent sources vitamins and minerals and spinach is no exception. 

Have it in breakfast in a smoothie or in an omelette, for lunch have your spinach in a refreshing salad and for dinner, add it to a hearty vegetable stew. I personally can’t get enough of the stuff.

So there it is guys, three awesome whole foods that will only add more plant based goodness to your diet, if you don’t already consume these nutritious foods I suggest you give them a go. 

Leave a Reply

